Tags

, , , ,


 I met someone extraordinary a while ago but the encounter left me reeling that I was unwilling to sit down and write about it until now.

 Adversity affects folks differently.  I know if I am not careful then I face depression in extreme adversity.  But I met someone with such incredible inner resources that had she had an ordinary life I would wonder at what she could have achieved by now.

The young woman had a life filled with obstacles.  And that night, she was facing even more problems.  She was stripped of everything she had, forced with the kindness of words which belied the act itself.  How do you give up everything but your name and still remain standing?!

I think this young woman is often misunderstood by those meeting her.  She’s one book you really need to spend time with before you decide she’s not worth the effort.  Her cover is definitely (and purposefully) deceiving.  At least that’s how I believe she has made it as far as she has.  If I had to design her book cover, it would be a vine with hugh, lush leaves covering most of it but what you could see of the vine would be thorns.  Thousands and thousands of thorns!  Yet in pushing aside the leaves and disregarding the thorns, you would find a flower (or some other living thing of beauty).  A delicate but sturdy thing of beauty which has much to offer. 

Romantic, yeah.  But there are two sides of her that are as far apart from each other as can be.  The travesties life has handed her – because most were out of her control -have me reeling.  But somehow she has something hidden inside her that when she met with obstacle after obstacle all in one day -which might have broken lesser people, myself included – she kept her dignity and her name.  Her spirit is resilient.  I hope if she can make it through everything she is going through now, that someone else will also see an incredible young woman.